Election Information

Current Election

The Morgantown City Council Election is Tuesday, April 30, 2019.

Register to Vote
The Monongalia County Clerk maintains the registration of all voters in the City of Morgantown and Monongalia County as outlined under State Code. Citizens residing within Morgantown's city limits must follow the same registration process for voting in Municipal Elections as with state and federal elections conducted by the county.

Residents of Monongalia County register to vote at the Monongalia County Clerk's office located at 243 High Street, Morgantown, WV  26505.  The County Clerk’s office telephone number is 304-291-7230.  However, residents may also register to vote online by clicking the link below. The last day to register to vote in the 2019 Morgantown City Election is Tuesday, April 9, 2019.

For additional information to help you answer questions regarding voter's registration and voting procedures, visit the West Virginia Secretary of State's website.

Municipal Elections

Morgantown's General Municipal Elections for city council are held on the last Tuesday of April in odd years. The polls will open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. on Election Day, per state code.

During each Municipal Election, all seven council seats are up for re-election and council members are elected at large to serve a two year term from July 1, to June 30, of the given term. Candidates wishing to run for city council must be qualified voters, and must reside in the ward in which they are seeking office. In accordance with the City Charter, the council selects from amongst themselves who will serve as Mayor and Deputy Mayor for a one year term, July 1 of the current year, through June 30 of the next year. The offices of Mayor and Deputy Mayor are ceremonial roles and serve as head(s) of the Regular and Committee of the Whole meetings of council. Additionally, the Charter states that council act exclusively as a body on all matters pending before them.

Early Voting

Any registered voter within Morgantown City limits is eligible for early voting, which takes place from Wednesday, April 17, 2019 to Saturday, April 27, 2019 Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Saturday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. in the Morgantown City Hall Lobby, located at 389 Spruce St. or at the Northside Fire Station, located at 1000 Van Voorhis Rd. There is no early voting on Sunday.

Absentee Voting

Residents who will be absent from the City, out of the country, confined to home, in the hospital, health care facility, or traveling on Election Day can apply for Absentee Voting.

You can read more about Absentee Voting on the WV Secretary of State's website.

Political Signs

Guidelines for the utilization of political campaign signs within Morgantown's City Limits can be found in the Political Sign Regulations (PDF).

Polling Places

Note: Polling places are based on a resident's precinct, not by ward. You can see your precinct on your Voter Registration Card. If you need help finding your precinct, call the City Clerk's Office at 304-284-7434, or you may obtain your precinct by clicking on the link below.

Determine my precinct. It is important to note that this link will provide the precinct, but the polling place listed is for the County election, not the Municipal election. Below is a list of the polling places, by precinct, for the 2019 Morgantown City Election. The polls will open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. on Election Day, per state code. Click on the addresses in the table below for directions to that polling place.

 Precinct  Location  Address
1 South Side Fire Station 228 South High Street, Morgantown, WV
2A MHS - Auditorium Lobby 109 Wilson Avenue, Morgantown, WV
2B MHS - Auditorium Lobby 109 Wilson Avenue, Morgantown, WV
10 BOPARC Wiles Hill Senior Community Center 287 Eureka Drive, Morgantown, WV
13 First Presbyterian Church 456 Spruce Street, Morgantown, WV
16 BOPARC Wiles Hill Senior Community Center 287 Eureka Drive, Morgantown, WV
23 Suncrest United Methodist Church 479 Van Voorhis Road, Morgantown, WV
26 Northside Fire Station 1000 Van Voorhis Road, Morgantown, WV
30 Sabraton Baptist Church 1641 Sabraton Avenue, Morgantown, WV

List of Candidates
First Ward

  • Rachel L. Fetty
  • Ron Bane

Second Ward

  • Barbara Parsons
  • Bill Kawecki

Third Ward

  • Ryan Wallace
  • Richard Dumas (Write-In)
  • Zack Cruze (Write-In)
  • Wes Nugent (Write-In)

Fourth Ward

  • Jenny Selin

Fifth Ward

  • Ron Dulaney, Jr. 

Sixth Ward

  • David Harshbarger
  • Jay Redmond

Seventh Ward

  • Barry Lee Wendell
  • Todd Stainbrook (Write-In)

Write-In Candidates
Candidates who miss the deadline to file a Certificate of Announcement may file to become an official write-in candidate by submitting a Write-In Candidate Certificate of Announcement, which you can find below, with the Morgantown City Clerk.

Only official write-in candidates will have their votes tallied; persons who simply have their name written on a ballot are not eligible to win any election.

In each election, official write-in candidates’ names will be posted at the entrance of each polling place and will be provided at the poll worker table inside the polling place upon request by a voter.

How Do I Vote for a Write-In Candidate?
Learn how to vote for a write-in candidate here.

Candidate Packet

The 2019 City Election Candidate Packet is now available.

Questions? Contact the City Clerk's office at 304-284-7434 or by email at cwade@morgantownwv.gov.

Related Documents