Election Information

The last City Council election was held on April 25, 2017.

The Monongalia County Clerk maintains the registration of all voters in the City of Morgantown and Monongalia County as outlined under State Code. Citizens residing within Morgantown’s City Limits must follow the same registration process for voting in Municipal Elections as with State and Federal Elections conducted by the County.

To check the status of your voter’s registration, or to register to vote, please contact the Voter Registration Office at the Monongalia County Courthouse at (304) 291-7230; located at 243 High Street, Morgantown, WV 26505.



Morgantown’s General Municipal Elections for City Council are held on the last Tuesday of April in odd years.

During each Municipal Election, all seven Council seats are up for re-election and Council Members are elected at large to serve a two year term from July 1, to June 30, of the given term. Candidates wishing to run for City Council must be qualified voters, and must reside in the ward in which they are seeking office. In accordance with the City Charter, the Council selects from amongst themselves who will serve as  Mayor and Deputy Mayor for a one year term, July 1 of the current year, through June 30 of the next year. The Offices of Mayor and Deputy Mayor are ceremonial roles and serve as head(s) of the Regular and Committee of the Whole meetings of Council. Additionally, the Charter states that Council act exclusively as a body on all matters pending before them.


Early voting is held at City Hall during regular business hours and on select Saturdays 21 days before Election Day


Residents who will be absent from the City, out of the country, confined to home, in the hospital, health care facility, or traveling on Election Day can apply for Absentee Voting.

You can read more about Absentee Voting on the WV Secretary of State’s website.


Guidelines for the utilization of political campaign signs within Morgantown’s City Limits can be found in the following download:

Political Sign Regulations 

2017 Election Materials

Sample Ballot (TBA)

Write-in Candidates (TBA)

City Council Election Packet and Info

West Virginia Absentee Ballot Application


Polling Places

NOTE – polling places are based on a resident’s precinct, not by ward. If you need help finding your precinct, call the City Clerk’s office at 304-284-7434.

The following was a list of Polling Places for City Precincts in the 2015 Municipal Election (Check back for changes closer to Election date):

01 Church of God – 664 Madigan Avenue

2A MHS – Auditorium Lobby – 109 Wilson Avenue
2B MHS – Auditorium Lobby – 109 Wilson Avenue

10 BOPARC Senior Community Center – 287 Eureka Drive
16 BOPARC Senior Community Center – 287 Eureka Drive

26 CMA Church – 308 Elmhurst Dr.

13 First Presbyterian Church – 456 Spruce St.

30 Sabraton Baptist Church – 1641 Sabraton Avenue

23 Suncrest United Methodist Church, 478 Van Voorhis Rd.