Celebration of America 2014 – Schedule of Events for July 4, 2014

Our Nation’s 238th Birthday, celebrated on Independence Day

July 4, 2014

Hazel Ruby McQuain Amphitheatre

Parade Submission Form | Bicycle Decorating Contest Form



Award Ceremony Program

Welcome Joe Kaehler
Invocation Apostle Joe Perozich, Morgantown Faith Center
Presentation of Colors Marine Corps League &
Moment of Silence for Fallen Law Enforcement
Taps in Remembrance Bill Rumble
National Anthem Mon River Big Band
Pledge of Allegiance Rebecca Davis
Master of Ceremonies Introduction Eldon A. Callen
Bicycle Decoration Award Presented by Positive Spin
Employer of the Year Award Presented by Tom Bloom
Storefront Award Presented by Barbara Watkins, Main Street Morgantown
Citizen of the Year Presented by Eldon A. Callen
Volunteer of the Year Presented by Jenny Selin
Veteran of the Year Presented by Eldon A. Callen
Distinguished Monongalian Presented by Jenny Selin
Celebration Perfomance
Special Recognition of John & Charlotte Pyles, Dorcas Davis
Closing Remarks Eldon A. Callen
Benediction Apostle Joe Perozich, Morgantown Faith Center

Mon River Big Band Performance, under the direction of Mike Roberts

Then: Bigger and Better Fireworks!



Chairmen Eldon A. Callen, Joe Kaehler
Parade Directors Donald Davis & Wilbur England
Parade Marshall WVU Women’s Basketball Team
Storefront Window Contest Barbara Palumbo
Riverfront Ceremonies Joe Kaehler & Eldon Callen
Master of Ceremonies Larry Nelson
Color Guard for the Parade VFW Post 548
Bicycle Contest Positive Spin
Programs Rebecca Davis
Convertibles Bob Losh & Don Ayersman
Signs Duffer Sign Co.
Banner Carriers Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, and Boys & Girls Club
Fireworks Coordinator Joe Kaehler
Support Services Joe Kaehler & BOPARC Staff


Celebration of America Committee

Co-Chairmen: Eldon A. Callen & Joe Kaehler

Past Chairmen: John W. Pyles, Bob Losh, Bob Beach & Bill Davis

Mark Wise

Rebecca Davis

Jenny Selin

Jonathan Rosenbaum

Carye Blaney

Wilbur England

Bob Losh

Donald Davis

Don Ayersman

Barbara Polumbo


Special Thanks to:

City of Morgantown

Monongalia County Sheriff

Monongalia County Commission


Morgantown Police Department

Duffer Sign Co.



Charlie McEweun

John Gutta, Jr.

Craig Falkensteine


America Flags & Pins are given by Mon Valley DAC Chapter, Col. Zackquill Morgan DAR, and Kichael Kerns Fort C.A.R.