City Council

Form of Government

The City of Morgantown supports a City Manager / Council form of government, adopted in the City Charter in 1977.
In Morgantown, the Mayor and City Council serve part-time and are elected on a non-partisan basis. Under the council-manager form of government, the City Council acts as the legislative body in establishing policy and law and the City Manager handles the day-to-day management of the City organization. The council-manager form has become the most popular form of local government in the United States in communities with a population of 5,000 or greater.

Click here for City Election Information.

Send a message to all City Council Members(

Ward and Boundary Interactive Map

Council Member Address Phone
Ron Bane – First Ward
720 Astor Avenue, Morgantown, WV 26501 304-376-5518
Serves on: Morgantown Utility Board, Transit Authority Board of Directors
Bill Kawecki – Second Ward
324 Cobun Avenue, Morgantown, WV 26501 304-292-5154
Serves on: Planning Commission, Historic Landmarks Commission
Wes Nugent – Third Ward
126 Willowdale Road, Morgantown, WV 26505 304-291-3403
Serves on: Parking Authority, Museum Commission
Mayor Jennifer Selin – Fourth Ward
1224 Fairlawns Avenue, Morgantown, WV 26505 304-598-9650
 Serves on ad hoc committees
Deputy Mayor Marti Shamberger – Fifth Ward
812 Ridgeway Avenue, Morgantown, WV 26505 304-296-2090
Serves on: BOPARC, Metropolitan Theatre Commission, MPO, and Woodburn Neighborhood Association
Mike Fike – Sixth Ward
928 Vandalia Road, Morgantown, WV 26501 304-291-2766
Serves on: Human Rights Commission, Youth Commission, Traffic Commission, Sister Cities Commission
Nancy Ganz – Seventh Ward      .
1276 Colonial Drive, Morgantown, WV 26505 304-599-0953
Serves on: Urban Landscape Commission, Tree Board, BOPARC
*Ad hoc committees not listed.

Morgantown City Council

City Council 2013-2015

Morgantown City Council Members – Elected for the term July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2015

Pictured from Left to Right, Standing Back Row:   Wes Nugent 3rd ward,  Mike Fike 6th ward,   Bill Kawecki 2nd ward,  Ron Bane 1st ward

Seated Front Row:  Nancy Ganz 7th ward,  Mayor Jenny Selin 4th ward,  Deputy Mayor Marti Shamberger 5th ward

Photograph by Frank Scafella 2013