Historic Landmarks Commission

Board Members
Rodney Pyles (term exp. 11/15/18)
Shannon Tinnell (term exp. 11/15/16)
Katherine Henko (term exp. 11/15/20)
Jeanne Grimm (term exp. 11/15/16)
Bill Kawecki, Council Rep. (term exp. 06/30/17)

The Historic Landmarks Commission meets each third Wednesday at 7 p.m. in the Public Safety Building Conference Room.

City Charter

Historic Structures

Building Name or
Site Name
Address Listed on National List of Historic Places
Wade, Alexander, House 256 Prairie Street 10/15/1966
Old Stone House 313 Chestnut Street 12/27/1972
Woodburn Circle University Ave, WVU downtown campus 12/04/1974
Old Morgantown Post Office 107 High Street 03/28/1979
Stewart Hall University Ave, WVU downtown campus 06/25/1980
Waitman T. Wiley House 128 Wagner Road 04/15/1982
Walters Residence 221 Wiley Street 08/18/1983
Judge Frank Cox House 206 Spruce Street 01/12/1984
Harner Homestead 1818 Listravia Street 01/12/1984
Metropolitan Theatre 371 South High Street 01/12/1984
Rogers House 293 Wiley Street 12/04/1984
Brown Building 295 High Street 07/08/1985
Monogalia County Courthouse 243 High Street 07/08/1985
Women’s Christian Temperance Union
Community Building
160 Fayette Street 10/30/1985
E. Moore Hall University Ave, WVU downtown campus 12/19/1985
Oglebay Hall University Ave, WVU downtown campus 12/19/1985
Purinton House University Ave, WVU downtown campus 12/19/1985
Seneca Glass Company Building 709 Beechurst Aveune 12/19/1985
Stalnaker Hall Maiden Lane, WVU downtown campus 12/19/1985
Men’s Hall (Boreman
Hall South)
Prospect & High Streets 02/05/1990
Vance Farmhouse 1535 Mileground 11/21/1991
Second Ward Negro
Elementary School
White & Posten Avenues 07/28/1992
Kern’s Fort 305 Dewey Street 04/09/1993
Ford House 310 Ford Street 11/15/1993
D.I.B. Anderson Farm 3333 Collins Ferry Road 03/25/1994
Dering Building 175-177 Walnut Street 11/04/1994
Kincaid & Arnett Feed
and Flour Building
156 Clay Street 07/21/1995
Hackney Place 89 Kingwood Street 07/01/1999
Fourth Ward School (Wiles Hill School) 287 Eureka Drive 08/25/2004

Historic Districts

Historic District Bounded by: Listed on National List of Historic Places
South Park Historic District Elgin St., Kingwood St., Cobun St., Prairie Ave., Jefferson St., Lincoln Ave., & Grand St. 07/23/1990
Downtown Morgantown Historic
Chestnut and Spruce Streets, & between Foundry and Willey Streets 05/02/1996
Morgantown Wharf and Warehouse
Historic District
Along Monongahela River from Warren Street to Walnut Street 12/16/1998
Chancery Hill District High Street, Waitman Street, Allison Street, Simpson Street, Wagner Road, and Oak Grove Cemetery. Increased to include 256 Prairie Avenue. 12/03/1999
Increased on 11/29/2001
Greenmont Historic District Roughly bounded by Arlington, Front, Conn, White Ave., Posten Ave., Kingwood St., and Decker Ave. 02/02/2005